Dusty – kissing spines update

 

At the beginning of November I had a reading week so went home to Norfolk for a few days. I took my riding boots and hat back with me, and was glad that I did as I ended up riding Dusty four times while I was back!

dusty-beast

It was great to catch up with his owner and to hear about how he has been progressing since I last saw him in the summer. (A quick note – I have acquired a few more followers recently, so if you aren’t aware of Dusty’s back problem you can find a previous blog post about it using the menu on the left hand side).

trotting-october

His owner has continued to be successful in getting him working over his back when out hacking and this has also begun to show in the school as well. We each had a lesson on him and I could see the improvement in him from watching him being ridden.

When I was riding him in the lesson and in the field on my own I still found him to be quite tricky but after a good forty-five minutes of warming up I could occasionally get him working nicely for a few strides…

schooling-1

He often lacks energy when schooling, but with the cooler weather and him having not been ridden in the field for a couple of months he was a little bit more lively and even started to get quite strong with me at one point. I was able to use this to my advantage and it definitely made it easier for me to encourage him into an outline as he was stepping forwards with much more power. We also practised plenty of trot poles as these require him to engage his hindquarters more.

trot-poles

After each ride we ask him to perform particular stretches using treats such as chunks of apple – these stretch his back and help him to develop muscle. Strengthening his back could alleviate the symptoms of kissing spine and reduce the need for surgery.

I wasn’t able to get very good images of Dusty stretching, but it generally includes him reach his head to his sides, to his hooves and to the tops of his front legs.

stretching

The video below shows some short clips of us schooling and a couple of his stretches.

 

Leave a Reply

