Welcome

Hello and welcome to Wild Call. This blog will document my experiences and adventures with animals – during my final year of living at home before university I will be aiming to write weekly posts about various subjects including dog agility training, local wildlife, horse riding and keeping parakeets.

About me

My name is Charlotte Page and I am a seventeen year old A-level student (studying maths, biology and chemistry). After my A-levels I hope to study for a degree in zoology – in particular I am interested in animal behaviour, physiology and the conservation of endangered species.

I have two pets of my own – a beautiful lutino cockatiel called Captain Beaky and a border terrier called Rusty.

Captain Beaky was bought for me as a twelfth birthday present – when he first came he was quite nervous around humans and hadn’t been handled much. Slowly over time I accustomed him to being held and now he is very sociable with people, often flying over to me to ask for fuss whilst I am doing my homework.

IMG_4391

Rusty came along when I was thirteen, and I trained her myself. Being a terrier, she’s always been a little crazy and we have to be careful about letting her off the lead – once she starts chasing something, there’s no getting through to her! When I was younger I just taught her basic commands, but in the past year or so I have worked on agility with her and have recently begun to teach her some tricks.

IMG_4620

I currently live in Norfolk – having only moved here just short of three years ago I have had a fantastic time exploring the woods near my house and seeing wildlife that I had never seen before.

Buzzard 2

The move also brought me much closer to another love of mine – horses. I now ride a handful of different horses for various people – but there are two in particular who will be written about on this blog:

Dusty is a 16.3hh thoroughbred who belongs to my neighbour – I think he is about nine years old but I’m not entirely sure. He is a bit more of a challenge than the other horses I have ridden in the past, (especially when out hacking) but gradually I am learning from him and becoming a better rider.

IMG_4642

Leon is 15.1hh; he is only four years old and is quite green when it comes to schooling. He is a rescue from World Horse Welfare so his exact breed isn’t known, but we do have our suspicions that there may be some Arab in there somewhere!

IMG_425012

Thank you for reading the introduction to my blog, the first proper post will be up soon – I hope you decide to join me on my adventures.

Leave a Reply

